Montana Laws and Incentives for Aftermarket Conversions
The list below contains summaries of all Montana laws and incentives related to Aftermarket Conversions.
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Conversion Tax Credit
Businesses and individuals are eligible for an income tax credit of up to 50% of the equipment and labor costs for converting vehicles to operate using alternative fuels. Qualified alternative fuels are compressed and liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas (propane), hydrogen, electricity, and fuels containing at least 85% ethanol, methanol, ether, or another alcohol. The maximum credit is $500 for the conversion of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds (lbs) or less and $1,000 for vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs. The credit is only available for the year in which the business or individual converts the vehicle. An alternative fuel seller may not receive a credit for converting its own vehicles to operate on the alternative fuel it sells. Reference Montana Code Annotated 15-30-2320)