Wisconsin Laws and Incentives for Alternative Fuel Purchaser

The list below contains summaries of all Wisconsin laws and incentives related to Alternative Fuel Purchaser.

State Incentives

Alternative Fuel Tax Exemption

No county, city, village, town, or other political subdivision may levy or collect any excise, license, privilege, or occupational tax on motor vehicle fuel or alternative fuels, or on the purchase, sale, handling, or consumption of motor vehicle fuel or alternative fuels. For more information see the Wisconsin Grant Programs page. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.82)

Laws and Regulations

Alternative Fuels Tax

A state excise tax is imposed on the use of alternative fuels. Alternative fuels include liquefied petroleum gas (LPG or propane), compressed natural gas (CNG), and liquefied natural gas (LNG). The current tax rates are as follows: $0.226 per gallon of propane; $0.247 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) of CNG; and $0.197 per GGE of LNG. No tax is imposed on alternative fuels used by the U.S. government or its agencies (when presented with a valid exemption certificate) or on vehicles used for urban mass transportation of passengers. For more information, see the Wisconsin Department of Revenue Alternate Fuel Tax website. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.40)

Biodiesel Definition

Biodiesel is defined as a fuel comprised of mono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived from vegetable oils or animal fats, either in pure form or mixed in any combination with petroleum-based diesel fuel. The definition of biodiesel is expanded for purposes of existing provisions that encourage alternative fuels use in state-owned vehicles. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 16.045(1)(c))

Biodiesel Labeling Requirement

Biodiesel fuel retailers may not advertise or offer for sale fuel labeled as pure biodiesel unless the fuel contains no other type of petroleum product, is registered as biodiesel fuel with the federal government, and meets all applicable ASTM specifications. Retailers also may not sell fuel labeled as a biodiesel blend unless the fuel contains at least 2% pure biodiesel fuel, the blend percentage is identified, and the fuel meets all applicable ASTM standards. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 168.14(2), 168.14(2m), and 168.14(3))