Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lane Exemption

Permitted PEVs may operate in any Maryland HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants. Qualified PEVs must have a maximum speed capability of at least 65 miles per hour. Permitted hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs) may operate in the Route 50 HOV lane only, regardless of the number of occupants. To operate in HOV lanes, PEV and HEV owners must obtain a permit from the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA). The cost of the permit may not exceed $20. Each year the MDOT MVA and the State Highway Administration must report PEV use in HOV lanes to the governor. This exemption expires September 30, 2019, for HEVs and September 30, 2022, for PEVs. For more information, see the HOV Permit Issuance for PEVs page. (Reference House Bill 714, 2018, and Maryland Statutes, Transportation Code 25-108 and 21-314)